What Acoustic for $1000?

MegaMustaine

• Members

Hey guys! I'm new to acoustic playing but not to guitar. I've been playing the electric for 5 years. Now, the last year, a buddy of mine left his old takamine at my house, and needless to say I played it all the time. I really dug it. But he took it back yesterday :mad:

All this time I had been thinking about an acoustic, from $500 to $700. I go to guitar center, try a bunch out, and I fell in love with the Taylor 214CE. It was above my price range, but it felt and sounded so great, that it makes me want to wait longer and just buy that. Plus I really dig the shape, sound, and feel.

My question is, are there better guitars for the money? the 214 is one of those 'cheaper' taylors, so I'm curious as to if there is anything out there that's better for the price, in your opinion.

Thanks for the help guys.

• Members

what kind of music do you play? Fingerstyle or with a pick? In a band? Solo? (here's hoping you play solo fingerstyle, but that's my personal bias) to be honest I've talked with a very well respected person in the industry who recommends the best buy in acoustics these days to be Trinity College Guitars TG 202 if I recall correctly.

Also recommended are Eastman guitars and Blueridge (made by same company that makes the Trinity College instruments) which are well in your price range. I'd recommend an Eastman.

Happy playing.

• Members

Hey guys! I'm new to acoustic playing but not to guitar. I've been playing the electric for 5 years. Now, the last year, a buddy of mine left his old takamine at my house, and needless to say I played it all the time. I really dug it. But he took it back yesterday
:mad:

Thanks for the help guys.

What model of Takamine was it? You can usually get the older models pretty cheap off of Ebay (much less than $1000).

• Members