Help!!!!!!!!!!!

• Members

Ok I'm a newbie to recording and I'm currently working as an intern in a recording studio here in Nashville. My boss the owner/engineer/producer of the studio is really trying to teach me so he's having me write a 2000 word paper about some of the basics.

What better way to research than to bounce some of these questions off of you experts?

There are quite a few questions here so if you can help me with any (or all) of these topics I would greatly appreciate it.

This might also be a good way for other rookies on the forum to learn a thing or two. Here they are:

Signal Flow:

Define and state differences between line, mic and amped level signals

What is resistance?

What are ohms?

High Z -Low Z?

What is high impedance and low impedance?

List maximum cable lengths for different signal levels.

What is the signal path for a typical live performance set up?

What is the signal path for a typical project studio?

What is bus?

What is pre fader and post fader?

What is the difference between bus and VCA (voltage control amplifier) group.

Thanks Guys!!

• Members

I don't usually like doing other people's homework for free, but here are a few ideas for what they are worth:

Resistance is futile.

Ohms are where the little Amps live.

You take the Hi Load and i'll take the Low Load.

A cable is as long as a piece of cable.

Follow the yellow brick road.

The path to my studio is made of concrete.

Bus, bus - magic bus.

Pre-Vader was Anakin Skywalker, Post-Vader was Darth

If you have to ask the difference between a bus and a VCA, i'm not going driving with you ...

• Members

Seriously dude - a simple Google would answer all these basic questions.

And describing the signal path for a live rig or studio is a huge ask. But Google will still find plenty.