Hondo II Professional...

jsb357

• 8 months later...
  • Members

I realize its been awhile since the original post. However, I have been playing guitar for about 20 years now. My last guitar purchase was earlier this year, (a new acustic/electric Taylor 810 CE). So why am I posting? I have been shopping for a new fender american strat. I have probably played no less than 50 in the last 2 months(american, mexican) at guitar center, sam ash, etc. so yesterday, i walk into guitar center, and there is an old late vintage late 70's make "hondo II professional" with "made in japan" on the headstock. its a sunburst strat copy with 3 single coil pu's, and a maple neck probably taken in on trade. so i say what the heck, and plug it into a vox ad100 valvetronics (the exact amp i own). the guitar was incredible, the tone, action, feel, tuners, all just like a vintage early 70's american fender. I actully couldn't believe it. so i hang the hondo back on the hanger and take down a brand new american made strat for $999 and play it (candy apple red body, black headstock with the steel rollers on the nut and a push button tone knob, you know the one). hands down, the new american strat couldn't hold a candle to the late 70's hondo strat copy, kid you not. i understand its just my opinion, but if you ever see one of the older, made in japan hondo ii's, give it a try, you wont be disappointed. So i bought the hondo, on the spot for $200 (they were asking $250). I am one happy camper because I was very close to ordering a new american hardtail strat thru fender. that is all on hold for now.

peace, rich.

• Members

With this sort of guitar, you have to play it before you buy it. I think Hondo made a few good guitars in the late 70's - early 80's, they had some sort of high end series.. My first electric guitar was a Hondo, it's still in my garage I think. That guitar was total crap. But it was bought new in the early 90's.

• Members