Jazzmaster - string slipping on a mustang bridge?

jmingo

• Members

I just put a mustang bridge on my jazzmaster... i thought problems solved... well they were except one. if i do a big bend on the high e string, the string will slip out.

so i had a show, so for now i had to put a jazzmaster saddle on the high e. any ideas what could be going on?? the mustang saddle on the high e didn't seem to tight.

plus i'm using 10's string.

any advice would be great.

• Members

i've got 3 jazzmasters. 2 mij's and a cij. i put a mustang bridge on the cij because the strings would pop roght out of the original saddles. the 2 mij's have the original saddles still. i've never had a problem with those. then again, i'm not one for extreme bending of notes or anything. i also use 11's for all the jazzmasters. they just seem to work better.

• Members

I have a CIJ jazzmaster, equipped with a mustang bridge. The only time the strings popped out was when I lend my guitar to our drummer. And I have 010's on my jazzmaster and I never never had any problems since I installed the mustang bridge.

• Members

I have my CIJ Jazzer with Mustang bridge strung with .011's--.056. No problems whatsoever, and I whang on it pretty hard. The 11's really wake this thing up. I also put Duncan Vintage for Jazzmaster pickups on it (I had 1/4 pounders for awhile). They are great pickups. Additionally, I put a mint pickguard on this beauty.

jazzmaster.jpg

• Members

Originally posted by inscho

if you can stand to go to 11s, thats your best bet.

Yep. The necks on those MIJ/CIJ Jazzers are fantastic, and you can set them up beautifully to handle .011's. I have started using 11's on all of my guitars with tremolos. They stay in tune and sound really beefy. I also put 11's on my ES 335. It doesn't take much more effort to bend the strings, and you get used to the heavier strings pretty fast.

• Members

Originally posted by jmingo