Advice needed on mixing!

• Members

Hey guys,

My blues/motown/soul band just recorded a demo for the purpose of getting gigs around town, etc... When we started things off our bass player told us that his brother had a studio that he could record us. long story short, the studio was actually a basement, the gear was less than great and the guy didn't know how to use any of his gear and after he recorded all of our songs he ended up asking me to do the mixing. I have NEVER done this before. I have a bit of college training in live sound, so I know some basics about EQs and compressors (which is why I got saddled with the job), but I have never worked with recordings!

So I'm looking for some insight on my rough mixes. Because it is a demo for getting gigs, we are trying to have a fairly "live" feel to things and the tracks were all single takes, so keep in mind that they aren't flawless performances.

All of our songs are at www.soulmedix.com. There are 5 songs (we'll probably only stick 3 on this discs we hand out). They automatically play/stream on the main page, but you can click "download" to download them in a higher quality Mp3 version.

Thanks in advance!

Patrick

• Members

ok,

I went through and critiqued these the same way i critique my own mixes, sat down and simply jotted down some notes, I hope they make sense. good work over all theres a couple things in each tune i would work on but its a solid demo. good luck!

SSD, im not too hip to the tamborine sound, i feel like there needs to be a cut in the upper mids to smooth it out, maybe add a little around 5-800 hz, guit solo coulda been a lil louder. but good work

Dont touch me, vocals sound pretty, could use some more kick in the beginning, i feel like the guitar solo on this one is a little loud, overall another good one