Help: Mic/Pre-amp Combo & De-essing

• Members

Hey Guys,

I am an avid musician, and I love recording my work and writing. However, as I am learning more and more about the mixing/mastering process, I'm running into a problem.

When I record my vocals, they're extremely simbilant. I'm a male vocalist, and I find the problem is at it's worst when I am doing softer, 'breathy' vocal lines.

Currently, I'm recording my vocals with a Rode NTK running straight into my Apogee Ensemble. I like the Rode a lot (in terms of detail), but it's just so hyped. I've been playing with multi-band compressors/de-essers, and trying to do a slight (Hi-Q) scoop (@ about 7000Hz where the 'esss' problem is at it's worst). Currently, I'm not happy with my solution(s), and I'd prefer it to just go in thick and smooth. BTW, I've been working with many different mic positions, and I do have a good pop-filter.

I also have limited experience with the Neumann U87. It's gorgeous and detailed, but not quite so hyped or harsh. Altho, it still seems like a 'bright' mic to me.

So, in short, I guess I am asking the following questions:

1) Should I experiment with a decent outboard compressor/pre-amp like Universal Audio's LA-610 MKII?

2) Grab another mic? I'm looking for recommendations on a flat, not-so hyped condensor...

3) Find some literature on correcting the problems via plugins? And if so, what should I try?

Any advice would be truely appreciated! Thanks for all the help in the past.

Cheers,

Phil B

• Members

Simbilant vocals is a singing/micing placement issue pure and simple. Using a DeEsser is a band aid. Are you using a windscreen would be my first question

and have you exhausted your micing positions to eliminate the problem.