Eq'ing Drums

• Members

Alright so i'm a student in college and i use cooledit to record with

a year or so ago me and my friends recorded most of an ep (drums, bass, and guitar)

then we forgot about it

so now i'm trying to put it all back together and get it to sound as good as we can

i'm trying to eq the drums and i cna't get them quite right

I used some of the cool edit presets

i bossted the bass and it sounded good but then when i put it with the rest of the band you couldn't hear the symbols and most of the drums (except the snare)

any tips to make the drums sound more professional?

louder and still sit well in the mix?

thanks guys

Edit: i ment to say that all the drums were recorded on one track

so i can't seperate the drums and eq and mix them seperatly

• Members

Yeah, all the drums on one track is about a lost cause.

Best way to do this is to mix the drums when listening to everything. All tracks will sound a bit wrong when solo'd as compared to how they fit into the mix. Frequent things for EQ include adding some at around 3-4 kHz, cutting around 300 Hz, maybe adding some around 6-10 kHz with a wider Q. Also may want to cut some around 90-120 Hz to separate the kick from the toms, maybe high pass everything around 40-60 Hz.

• Members

I've dealt with this before, and while your efforts won't sound pro, here's a couple tips.

The most obvious is to put all the tracks up then sweep the eq points with a few dBs booted until you locate the key frequencies, then boost or cut to fit with the rest of the instruments.

If that fails I've had good results doing a wide open Q scoop on one track drums with the frequency set at the same presence point of the guitar. I scoop just a few decibels to clean up the mid range of the entire mix and give the guitar and bass room to breathe. I then boost the drum volume a little to make up for the cut if I need it, and boost a little anywhere from 9k to 15k for a little more "splash" and "sheen" to the cymbals.