Why does the Peavey Classic 30 sound so good with so many guitars? Is it the tubes?

apostrophe

• Members

Ok, so I have been playing Electric for a mere 2 years (Acoustic for about 5). Today I played my very first tube amp, the Peavey Classic 30 and it was a spectacular experience!

Everything I threw at it (Strats, Les Pauls, $$ guitars, cheap p.o.s guitars, hollows, solids, etc) sounded freaking amazing! Such depth and clarity! The HWY1 Strat I played sounded like liquid sound....just dripping with awesomeness.

Made my Vox Pathfinder 15R sound less than stellar by comparison.

So why did it all sound so good? Is it just because it's a tube amp, or is it because this amp in particular is just great?

I cant get that sound out of my mind.....

Also, what are the Pre and Post knobs for?

• Members

pre is the master volume, post is the volume... The pre controls how dirty the sound is, the post controls how loud it is.. (i know, the names make it sound the other way around, MASTER should be the overall volume, but it ain't..) a good amp will make a bad guitar sound better. a great amp will do even more, and the Classic series are all great amps.

• Members

Then what does the volume knob do? Ha?

There were 3 knobs: Volume, Pre, and Post....wtf?

So it sounded so amazing because:

1. the Classic 30 is pretty darn good

2. It's a tube amp!

Bottom line....I was getting some great jazz sounds out of this thing! The notes just had so much character and life. My Vox doesnt sound ANYTHING like that.

• Members

no such thing as a stupid question. if you don't know, then ask. i wish the "volume" was indeed to overall volume for both channels. I hate switching channels and being blown against the wall by the thing. but, that's the nature of a "low" power tube amp. "low power tube amp" is like saying the loser of a drag race was going slow.. slowER maybe, but still insane.

• Members