A funny but interesting fake

• Members

I think it's the drilled holes behind the truss rod cover that set off warning alarms, not the truss rod cover itself.

Yeah, but it's had a Floyd or Kahler or something fitted at one time, so the holes may have been for a stringlock/lockingnut type thing.

Looks legit to me as well.

• Members

Didn't Explorers have the trapezoidal truss covers? Looks like it was replaced with an LP cover as the cover looks brand new.

Seems like an awful lot of effort put in to relic/personalize/parts-change a fake.

That said, I'm no expert so hey.

• Members

Yeah, but it's had a Floyd or Kahler or something fitted at one time, so the holes may have been for a stringlock/lockingnut type thing.

+1 looks real to me. its just an explorer with some battle scars. i'd rock it! :thu:

• Members

But the holes don't protrude through to the other side of the headstock...

It looks legit, but that thing's so carved up I'd probably never buy it unless it came dirt cheap

• Moderators

A string guide only needs two screws, that's the upper two, the lower two are in exactly the same place as an Epi....although I suppose someone as well as a Kahler or FR rout on a Gibson mat also have fitted an Epi TR cover?:)

Plus a locking nut would have required a portion of the fingerboard cutting back.....unless there's a locking nut that doesn't require that?

• Members

Plus a locking nut would have required a portion of the fingerboard cutting back.....unless there's a locking nut that doesn't require that?

Many old Kahler lock nuts were units that just screwed in behind the regular nut without a neck modification

• Moderators

1983...this is what Gibson offered:

Gibson Explorer Korina ( 1982 - 1984 )