NGD and a question! Epi LPC pickups

HOMER308

• Members

First of all - after an extreme bout of GAS - I jumped on an LPC lefty -

DavesEpiphoneLPCustom1.jpg

epi01b.jpg

Yeah, just got it - still has the pickup labels on it -

I'm perfectly happy with it right now, but was wondering if anyone knows of a reference to what pickups get put into each Epi model - these are nice, but I may decide to upgrade to Burstbuckers or 490/498, or even GFS Fats if they make that much of a difference.

Anybody have any insight as to what this guitar has standard and how they might relate to the pickups I mentioned above?

Your comments are welcome! Thanks!

• Members

Cool guitar:thu:

The stock Eppi pups if I am not mistaken are an alnico5 humbucker type. They sound "ok". I wouldnt want them in my main guitar. I have no experience with the GFS pups but putting in Gibson pups would def' be an upgrade (imo). You can snag Gibson sets off E-bay all the time for pretty cheap.

Another route is throwing in a set of DiMarzio pickups. You could go for a PAF-Pro neck and a Super Distortion bridge. They are a nice combo and good for getting all around Blues, Rock, Classic Metal type tones.

• Members

Looks great Homer308! Congrats!

I too have a black epi LPC, but its a LE model and came with alinco classic pick ups. Pretty sure their different then the normal LPC's. I went with the burstbuckers out my VM. After all the smoke cleared I like the BB bridge and the epi neck pup the best. I have the alinco classics in the VM now and they sound real nice.

I suggest playing with the stock ones and see what you like and dis-like about them and then go shopping from there.

Happy NGD!

:thu:

• Members

Looks great Homer308! Congrats!