how to reduce sustain on electric guitar

jackie_thompsen

• Members

Hi-

I've been playing an acoustic guitar for a couple months, and just got an electric guitar and small amp (epiphone lp special II, beringer v-tone gm108) yesterday.

It seems like my electric has just too much sustain - at least many times more than my acoustic guitar. It's making the sound so much muddier/blurrier/echoier than my acoustic ever sounded. The sound reminds me of a church organ. I was even trying to attach a rubber band to the strings to try to force notes to die out faster.

I've fiddled with all the knobs on my amp to no avail - it's on the most basic clean settings.

I'd experimented on two electrics before buying my own (a coworker's, and in the store) - I knew there would be more sustain, but not to the level of irritation. Is this normal?

Thanks

• Members

Hi-

I've been playing an acoustic guitar for a couple months, and just got an electric guitar and small amp (epiphone lp special II, beringer v-tone gm108) yesterday.

It seems like my electric has just too much sustain - at least many times more than my acoustic guitar. It's making the sound so much muddier/blurrier/echoier than my acoustic ever sounded. The sound reminds me of a church organ. I was even trying to attach a rubber band to the strings to try to force notes to die out faster.

I've fiddled with all the knobs on my amp to no avail - it's on the most basic clean settings.

I'd experimented on two electrics before buying my own (a coworker's, and in the store) - I knew there would be more sustain, but not to the level of irritation. Is this normal?

Thanks

See now if you overdrive that beast a little, you could probably come up with some killer rock riffs. For what you want however you might want to look into something with single coils. I'd recommend a good Strat.

• Members