Strat trem arm

J.L.C.

• Members

I've played hardtails for a while now and before that I used a floyd so I'm new to strat trems. I screwed the arm in tonight (american series strat) and it gets really stiff tight near the bottom, which makes it tough to swing the arm around or get it out of the way.

Is that normal for strats?

On the floyd I could adjust how 'free' the swing of the arm was from dangling loose to staying where you put it. Is that possible on a strat or is swinging the arm around just threading/unthreading? Does that loosen up over time, it's a bit of a pain to not be able to kick the arm outta the way.

• Members

I've played hardtails for a while now and before that I used a floyd so I'm new to strat trems. I screwed the arm in tonight (american series strat) and it gets really stiff tight near the bottom, which makes it tough to swing the arm around or get it out of the way.

Is that normal for strats?

On the floyd I could adjust how 'free' the swing of the arm was from dangling loose to staying where you put it. Is that possible on a strat or is swinging the arm around just threading/unthreading? Does that loosen up over time, it's a bit of a pain to not be able to kick the arm outta the way.

This is normal. What you seemed to have done is just threaded the arm to far into the block. Just unthread the arm till it is loose and then you will be able swing the arm out of your way. I always just thread mine in until I feel it get tight and then back off a turn. The arm on a strat acts like the one on my Kahler trem.

Floyd rose trem arm uses a collar where you can adjust the tension of it.

• Members

Bump

It also seems to be angled toward the back of the bridge, is it just not threading right?

Is your bridge flush to the body? If so, the trem arm will be angled. To get it parallel, you will have to set it up to float.

Here is the link for Fender's recommended way to set up a strat.

http://www.fender.com/support/stratocaster.php

• Members