1st Guitar Lesson Tomorrow. Any Advice?

Doctor Morbius

• Members

Finally getting around to taking lessons. Is there anything I should look for or ask? The only music lessons I've ever had were from music instructors in Jr. High and High School and I can't remember a thing from that long ago (except that I always wanted to tap Donna Jones but she didn't know I existed :rolleyes:).

I've already conveyed that I'm a hobbyist and am not going to be interested in heavy theory. Some sure, but not lots. Perhaps later if I get more into it.

I know I want to learn how to alternate pick. I can already do so but I want to be able to do it FAST - as in Dick Dale Misirlou fast. :rawk:

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

Perhaps investing in some type of recorder, a metronome, and an empty music sheet book.

You will obviously want the metronome to want to practice alternate picking with. I suggest a recorder to perhaps record parts of, or the entire lesson so you can review it (cheap tape would be fine). An empty music sheet book for them to write notes/lessons in also.

Oh, and I'm sure you know already, but just go in there relaxed...as that has been my mistake in the past. :-)

I hope this is what you are asking for. :-)

• Members

Go in with humility and expect (or ask that) your bad habits will be brought to light. You probably know more than you think but you not know what you don't know.

LawnMowerMonkINS_468x622.jpg

Thank you Sensei. And after lesson very important roll rice paper. :D

Yes, I absolutely want to be shown my bad habits. That's one of the main reasons I want to take lessons. I don't want bad habits to be a burden a few years from now when I'm ready to take things further but am hindered by my faults.

• Members

Perhaps investing in some type of recorder, a metronome, and an empty music sheet book.