Pre-CBS strat build (round two)

colin617

• Members

Hello all,

I am going to attempt to build a replica of George Harrison's "Rocky" that is as historically accurate as possible. However, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to vintage Fenders. I implore the wise members of HCEG to please assist my research for this project.

Here is my shopping list:

Warmoth 1-piece alder body, SSS, trem -- $240

--painted Sonic Blue -- $185

Warmoth Strat Replacement neck (birdseye maple/indian rosewood, Clapton shape) -- $175

Fender Vintage Synchronized Trem (chrome) -- $90

Fender CS '69 Strat Pickups -- $190

Fender Vintage '62 11-hole 3-ply pickquard -- $20

3-way switch -- $14

1 volume, 2 tone knobs (white) -- ~$7

Strat switch knob (white) -- $1.25

Chrome recessed Jack plate -- $5.50

3 250k pots -- $15

wiring -- $8

Standard Strap buttons (chrome) -- $3

copper shielding tape -- $6

Graphtech nut -- $10

Gotoh vintage machine heads -- $28

Chrome neck plate -- $4.50

Please, any literature you have about Rocky or pre-CBS strats would be greatly appreciated. Critiques and suggestions of my list are welcome, but please keep the conversation on topic; I am building this guitar as a tribute to the man that made me pick up the instrument. However, keep in mind that I am a student and will not be able to spring for completely vintage parts (also be patient -- getting the money for this build will be slow).

I will update this thread once this build commences and keep updating it until I can finally post my NGD thread.

Thanks!

Colin

• Members

damn you got some nice gear. Got any pics?

the only thing I can say (I have two partscasters) is Warmoth is nice, but so is Allparts.

I have a poly finished strat neck from them that is probably the best neck I've EVER played on.

• Members

damn you got some nice gear. Got any pics?

the only thing I can say (I have two partscasters) is Warmoth is nice, but so is Allparts.