New (Tom Anderson) Guitar!

visualrocker69

• Members

Mmmm, I've been lusting after Andersons for a few years now, and finally managed to get one that matched the specs I was looking for EXACTLY. Now I just gotta sell my PRS Custom 24 to finance an Axe-FX and I'm set for the next few years! I hope nothing major surfaces from NAMM that I won't be able to resist. (Choosing to ignore Suhr's existance until I'm safely out of the country :lol:)

Previous owner's pics. Will take some of my own when it arrives :)

32f43yq4.jpg369b3ia8.jpg

cf2b3mb3.jpg

b67e3lj5.jpgccc53dj0.jpg

ce213um3.jpg

As some of you know, there are quite a few variations in Andersons, even within the same model category. I had to wait a long time to find the right one.

Here are the specs:

cf8e3ey3.jpg

Well, I hope it won't dissapoint! I'm sure it won't - it IS an Anderson after all. Other candidates I was considering were a Musicman JP6 BFR and a Parker Fly of some sort.

I think I made the right decision... don't you agree? ;)

• Members

nice, but no bolt-on guitar should cost that much. Leo went with the bolt-on design for one reason: cheap..

The Andersons are awfully pricey, but I think a distinction should be made between the new Anderson two-bolt neck and the Fender-style bolt on. The Fender-style neck joint just slaps two slabs of wood on top of one another and screws them together. The Anderson two-bolt neck locks into the body like a puzzle piece. It's much more expensive to engineer. It eliminates the possibility of misalignment (plenty of Fender-style neck joints are so sloppily engineered that if you unbolt the neck, a shim will fall out), and is claimed to provide better transfer of vibration. It definitely seems to me like a superior system, and I think Anderson is justified in charging a premium for it. Every Anderson I've ever played (only in stores, alas!) has been a beautifully crafted instrument.

• Members