Need help to identify this presumably MIJ Strat

woodsmandan

• Members

Local pawn shop has this Fender Stratocaster...I think I could grab it under 400$...

Seller says it's a mid eighties MIJ, but some features make me doudt, and I'm no expert...

Here are some features:

- Hardtail, strings thru (like a Tele)

- V neck, maple, with skunk stripe

- Small headstock, "with syncronized tremolo" (which I find suspicious since it's a hartail)

- No serial number or "made in..." on or under the headstock, but a sanded bit on the back of the neck, just before the body joins.(as if the pre owner erased the serial number)

- String saddles NOT stamped Fender

- Staggered poles pickups

- 1 ply pickguard, very thin, 8 screws

-Black body, looks like poly finish

Neck feels very good, guitar plays and sounds good...but how can I be certain that it's a real 80's MIJ ?

• Members

Hard to say without pics. Actually, almost impossible to say without pics.

I had one MIJ that had a bridge exactly like a Fender... full size block, full width saddles and the saddles were stamped Fender. The one I have now has the full size block, narrower saddle spacing and solid saddles, but they aren't the folded Fender saddles. They are bulky steel saddles.

Does it not say Japan anywhere on it? Most 80s MIJs had the normal 4 bolt neck joint while some of them had the 3 bolt micro. These will almost always have the large style headstock though. I don't think I've ever seen a Korean Fender with the 3 bolt. And I think every 80s MIJ I've played had a glossy neck rather than a satin neck.

If it's all original, it should say Made In Japan either on the headstock or on the neck plate.

But if you like it and it feels great, who cares where it was made? It would effect the price, but regardless of where it was made, if it doesn't say Made In Japan somewhere on it, it's not all original and probably not worth $400.

• Members