Help choosing the right effect(s).

One_Dude

• Members

I am a long-time guitarist playing mostly light jazz and easy listening stuff. The last several years I have been concentrating on playing mandolin in a Bluegrass band, and bass at church and for fill-in gigs. When I play guitar on jazz numbers I use reverb and an otherwise clean sound. A few days ago I saw a guitarist playing at the local Home & Garden show, and I found his sound to be amazing. Ultra clean with lots of definition, and what seems like plenty of audio space between notes. By comparison, I think my sound strikes me as being "lifeless". He was using a Fractal (SP?) FX-8 effects board, with a Gibson Les Paul, and a small amp. His sound was very natural with no hint of any signal processing in it. I'm sorry I didn't have the opportunity to talk to him and learn what I could about his set-up.

When it comes to guitar effects beyond reverb I really know nothing. I have picked up a few older processors and find that the only sound I can get from them is distortion, phase shift, and flange. I don't find that any of these effects fit well into the music I play. I priced the effects board this fellow was using and it's way too pricey for me. I have also seen a Boss ME-80 online and find that is more in my budget. But the question I have is this: What exactly do I need to give life to the lifeless sound that I currently have, and at the same time get a sound that does not seem to be "processed". Is there one effects pedal that provides what I am looking for?

Thanks in advance for you thoughts.

One_Dude

• Members

your post has anything mentioned but no delay pedal. i guess thats what you are missing, in some form or the other.

it seems you are a bit green in the world of effects?