Wanting to play live, but have no band

Lemon Crush

• Members

I'm a solo artist. I record all my own instruments and material, and wanna start playing it out live. But the thing is, I have no band. IMO, there are two paths

A) Record a backing track for each song I wanna play live, and queue them up with a DJ. But maybe there could be sound problems having one mixed down backing track, and then whatever instrument I'll play. Would sound guys hate me?

B) Get a band. But I can't find anyone interested and I can't afford to hire one.

Are there any other ideas my brain can't think of?

• Members

You could also do a combination - that's what I do for original songs. Some songs I'll play just on piano or guitar, no backing tracks. On some other songs I'll have the backing tracks on an iPod or iPad. Backing tracks can limit where you play, though - some places don't care, but some places won't hire you if you use them. It also depends on the style of music you play. Some styles work well when broken down to just vocals and an acoustic. But some styles (like metal) don't.

• Moderators

C) ...You know your songs are good if you can play it just on an acoustic guitar.

^This...because, when you think about it...how did you compose it originally? For most musicians, it is on their primary instrument, so why not figure out how to perform it as simply as the way you orignated it? Obviously, if oyu are a horn player, this could be challenging, solo performance-wise ;)

• Members

I'm a solo artist. I record all my own instruments and material, and wanna start playing it out live. But the thing is, I have no band. IMO, there are two paths

A) Record a backing track for each song I wanna play live, and queue them up with a DJ. But maybe there could be sound problems having one mixed down backing track, and then whatever instrument I'll play. Would sound guys hate me?

B) Get a band. But I can't find anyone interested and I can't afford to hire one.