What do you think of my potential tele build?

David E H

• Members

(Sorry about the enormously large picture area......I'm not good with all the Microsoft Paint formatting and such)

It would be ordered from Warmoth:

-one piece mahogany body with a hand-oiled finish

-maple neck(satin nitro) with rosewood fretboard......maybe SS frets?

-two vintage Fender Wide Ranges(if not now, some time when I can afford them)

-string through the body, with just a standard non-trem deluxe tele bridge

-and for fun I want to go totally overkill with the electronics.....I haven't confirmed what pots and caps I want to put in yet though....

I really like the sounds and vibe of the Tele Deluxe, but I like the look of natural mahogany and a standard tele pickguard and control plate.....I can get the body and neck from Warmoth, but I don't think they do the Wide Range route for a standard tele, so I would have to route it myself. Hopefully that won't be too big of an issue. I would just get the H-H route and then start working around that......the neck pickup would let me get away with a little sloppiness, but the bridge would be some pretty intense cuts....could I hire a luthier to do that for me? Without the vintage pickups it would be under $1000 so that's pretty reasonable.....

It's sort of an unorthodox tele, but it's basically my dream guitar and I'd keep it forever......what do you guys think?

MahoganyTelecasterBuild.jpg

• Members

its basically a telecaster plus with wide range humbuckers then?

zbtelePLUSfront.jpg

Yea, I suppose it's the same, just with a different body wood with a completely different finish

...and different pickups

...and a special route for said pickups

...and no splitter switch on the control plate

...and a rosewood fretboard.

But other than that it's exactly the same as the one pictured :p :poke:

• Members