Tax write-offs...need your advice

• Members

Hello,

I'm a solo artist and recently, I started an independent label for the purpose

of tax write-offs. This will be my first year selling my Cd, Merchandise, etc.

Was looking for tips on how to organize this apsect of the buisness.

I'm new to this so any insight would be greatly appreciated. I know to keep

all my receipts. Is there anything else I have to include.

Thanx!

• Members

Nolo Press nolo.com has some great books about starting a small business, maximizing your tax deductions, etc.

If you are running your business as a sole proprietor, Quicken Home and Business can be just what you need to organize your finances, and they have a TurboTax Home and Business online that makes tax easy.

• Members

Sounds like you are running it as a sole proprietorship, so you would just include all the revenues and expenses in your personal tax return.

However, you are only allowed to write off expenses if the purpose of your business is to make money. As a result, you will also have to report some sort of revenues to go against some of those expenses. You can still come out at a net loss, but in the (unlikely) event that you get audited, you will have to prove that it is not just a hobby.

• Members

Yes, I'm running it as a sole proprietorship (attained a D.B.A) for it. So, I gotta keep my receipts from all my expenses and also my yearly revenue.

Being that it's my first show, should I file my business taxes? Will I get any money back?

• Members

IANAL or a tax expert! And I don't know if you are even in the US or what state you are in.

As a sole proprietor, you are co-mingling your personal and business funds. Any business income will be taxable, and appropriate expenses can be deducted from your tax due. The IRS has publications that tell you all the details about hobby vs. business, deductions, etc.

• Members