Micing a guitar tube amp?

Thorhead

• Members

Hello.

So I am total noob when it comes to tube amps (and micing). Do they sound better as you put the volume higher? Do you need high volume for them to sound at all in semi loud room?

Because I need to mic one in small practice space, and it should not get too loud. Mainly amplified by PA.

Is this at all viable?

(Hypothetical scenario BTW - just thinking that solid state may be better).

• Members

Tube amps sound better when you get the output tubes cooking. For this reason I built a iso-box to put in front of the speaker cab. I knocks the sound down quite a bit. Trouble is I have to keep moving the mic position

and moving the box until I get what I want. A Shure Sm57, Sennheiser 609 are common. I use a Shure SM7b. I am sure others will chime in with sound advice.

• Members

You don't have to crank a tube amp for it to sound good. Yes, they do often sound great when you do that, but it's not necessary. Whether tube or solid state is really better depends on the amp and, more importantly, your taste. Some solid state amps sound better than some tube amps (despite what some will say), though tube amps are generally better.

• Members

There's a lot of info online about micing guitar amps- just do a google search for the basics.

One thing that took me a while to realize is how much of a difference mic placement on the speaker makes- moving the mic 1/4" or pointing it at a slight angle to/away from the cone will completely change the sound (experiment if you can get an iso booth or iso headphones and you'll be surprised). And they usu do sound better with higher volume just because it moves more air and the amp itself probably sounds better.

Another thing to mention is however much distortion you use, turn it down by 1/4 when you mic the amp.

• Members

There's a lot of info online about micing guitar amps- just do a google search for the basics.