What do you think of fernandes?

gorebreath

• Members

They have a lot of interesting models at very reasonable prices. Plus a lot of them have that sustainer pickup thing which I dig, I was wondering though how do the feel? How are the necks? Thin fast? wide flat? big chunky? in between? Basically in a nutshell I'm asking: Are they quality?

• Members

I just got a ridiculous deal on a Monterey Elite. I'd never played a fernandes before but I've been jonesing for a sustainer for years. It's absolutely amazing. The neck is really slim, which I love. The body is mahohany with a maple top, but it's really slim too, so it doesn't have the fullness in tone of a Gibson. Actually it reminds me a little of an Epiphone Wilshire in feel, especially with the slim taper neck and white finish, but it doesn't feel as delicate. Maybe a Wilshire crossed with an SG.

The sustainer system is great. It probably wouldn't be worth it without that IMO. I'm a horrible guitarist, I can't solo for {censored}, so I use the feedback for Sigur Ros or even Smashing Pumpkins style ethereal tones. I've seen videos of it being used to get some crazy metal shred feedback though. I can't even imagine the fun I'd have if I were a better player.

When the sustainer is on, the neck pickup goes into driver mode, so you can only get sound from the bridge. Mine has a seymour duncan in it, which is pretty versatile, so when I turn the tone down I can get a fuller sound without it getting too muddy. I don't know how the older models would sound.

Bottom line, great guitars, but I wouldn't buy one without a sustainer system, and I wouldn't pay a grand for a new one. Buy a used one for 400-600 and it's a fair deal. I got mine at musicgoround.com. They have some there for like $450 now, and there are usually a few on ebay, but most of them are new and full price.

• Members