Taking photos of guitars - how?

Danhedonia

• Members

I am a decent portrait photographer, but have completely struck out when taking pics of my babies.

How do you do it?  Specifically interested in:

* choice of light source (natural? fluorescent? incandescent? does it matter?)

* camera angle.  as specific as possible ... "about a foot away from the bridge and above it ..." etc.

* tweaks / settings?  I think all of us now do at least some post-production ... I think.

* anything else? 

People on here have some fantastic shots of guitars - I both want to do this for fun and need to as I prepare to thin the herd on Reverb.com.  Help!

Thanks!

• Members

I'm no expert, but I do have some standards I like to follow. Until recently I shot all my stuff on autofocus cameras. I did use film cameras years ago. Now I'm beginning my journey with a DSLR camera and getting a little more serious about the hobby.

I prefer natural lighting whenever possible, so I like to shoot my guitars near windows in daytime settings. I'm a believer in using extra lighting very sparingly. I keep the flash off as much as possible as a general rule. It's just a thing with me.

I shoot in all kinds of angles and distances. I generally don't like shooting with the guitar in a nadir or straight-on position, or anything that will show a reflection of me, say in the hardware or the shine of the finish.

Of course, with static shots I like to keep the ISO as low as possible while preventing overexposure. I think that's the general rule, anyway. I guess aperture and speeds kind of follow along that standard. I want to get as much light and sharpness and image depth and color depth as possible without overdoing it.