any PRO bookers out there anymore?!

• Members

Hey everyone,

My metal band is looking to tour for 2 weeks starting late July and it just seems like one cluster{censored} after another. My bandmates have a tendency to rely on MySpace to get bookers/shows through there. Live and learn is all I have to say. These guys have no {censored}ing clue what they are doing. We need 8 gigs to add down south and what I want to know if what is the most EFFICIENT way to book gigs and find booking agents who are professional. I have played my last gig where I drive 4 hours, have my singers mic broken the whole set, and not have ONE CENT of compensation. Let me know your secrets because even though I have been playing guitar for 12 years, my experience in the actual business in quite limited.

my band is at www.myspace.com/theenigmaspiral

• Members

Just like any insurance or real estate agent, a booking agent looks to make his commission (and living) by offering a good product that he can sell. The indie metal market, (as almost always) is pretty low. I'm sure you've got a grasp of club economics from your own scene. Its not really any better anywhere else. and its usually worse for an unknown traveling band. The best thing you can do is become the best "product" you can be. Yes, I know all of this goes against our "keep it real" "I just want to play music" ethic. If you don't want to be part of the ugly business end of it, get someone who is good with money and is very persuasive on the phone to be your manager. Sounds a bit cold to talk about the business side of things and everyone getting their money, when there are so many other VERY VERY cool things about playing music. I think that EVERYONE could stand to be a bit less selfish and EVERYONE would benefit...but thats another rant...