What are some things you would have done differently when you started learning drums?

planet shh

• Members

I've been playing guitar for ten years or so, and now, looking back there are a few things i wish i would have done differently that i find myself now having to correct. little things, like keeping my fingers closer to the fretboard, and stuff. in short, i know if you arent careful, its easy to develop bad habits when learning to play music.

lately ive been starting to take drums a lot more seriously, and i was just wondering if you guys have any tips for me and things to watch for. also what are some good sites to go to for excersizes and stuffffffff. :confused:

• Members

Start working on independence and double bass exercises from day one. I wish I had. Now that I am trying to get into prog and metal, Im having to work out some of the muscle memory that developed from years of playing without taking 4 way independence and lead left foot work into mind.

• Members

Time...the number one aspect you can't fake. I'd have used a metronome a lot earlier instead of just building technique. With out good time, we follow instead of drive. Feel comes out of playing with good time. Push it forward, lay it back..without good initial time...it's all talk and no action.

It took me years of building time that could have been accomplished at a much earlier age...

• Members

Metronome good.......... Seriously. Those things are miracle workers.

And I'm gonna have to disagree with Merlin up there. Don't work double bass technique until you have mastered (or at least gotten really good at) single pedal. I know what you are talking about, but ultimately, single pedal is more important than double pedal and double pedal is a lot easier to pick up after learning single pedal than single pedal is after learning double pedal.