Are drum dials worth it?

milo91

• Members

just found this link

That link is ok but try this onehttp://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1410132 I think its great to get your drums back to the sound you want. It's only a tool for guidance, your ear will find the best result.

• Members

...others swear that the thumb, index finger, & ears are all that are required to tune.

+1

If it's useful to you, then it should be considered a worthwhile purchase.

Personally, I have been playing (and tuning) drums for 30+ years by ear with a key and seem to do just fine.

• Members

I think it's important to be able tune without it, but I think it can also teach you how your heads react to each other. It taught me I'd get a better sound overall if my reso's were tighter, especially on the snare.

Pros:

Gives accurate reading of head tension for optimal performance.

Shortens the process, swapping heads is a snap. Even if you were totally confident in only tuning by ear, it's nice to have a number you could dial back to.

The opportunity to quickly experiment with many different tunings without any guess work.

Cons:

No cool carrying case, just a cardboard box.

• Members

They're not magic. You do need to know how to tune, but they can actually help with that. A tuning n00b can easily get into a terrible-sounding mistuned head, and just be at a loss as to why. Once the tuning gets bad enough, there are so many clashing overtones, it's tough to find the offending lugs. A DD will quickly diagnose the trouble. Also, my DD was able to prove my theory that I had a bad edge on my 12" tom. I got my rack toms re-cut, and a world of tones opened up.

That said, I don't really use it anymore, except for head changes.

• Members

Kind of like a guitar tuner, I don't need it to tune, but it's nice to have, especially when you don't want the noise tuning up before a show.