So what makes a good studio kit?

FWAxeIbanez

• Members

So I realize that with good mic choices and placement, any kit that sounds good in a room will sound good on tape, but what would you look for in a kit that was exclusively for tracking? I'm wanting to leave this kit set up in my recording space so I can really learn the ins and outs of it. It will probably never get disassembled, so "road worthiness" isn't a factor, and volume/projection isn't really a concern either since it just has to sound good on it's own in front of the mics.

I'm recording mainly faster paced "heavy" music with double bass, but I'm a bit reluctant to say "metal". I would think that a good all around "rock" kit should do the job. I'm looking for a big organic sound, which I'm sure is something you've heard before, I just don't really know how to explain it further. My problem is I'm a guitarist that bought an electric kit and got hooked :lol: I figured it's time to learn the finer points of drums, so it's time for an acoustic kit, plus I'm sick of recording all the garbage "pressed cardboard" kits that the local bands come in with. I wish I could narrow down what I want a bit better, I just don't have an ear for what different woods, sizes, or ply's bring to the table. I'd appreciate any help you can give, whether it's a specific kit, set of sizings, or a suggestion on woods used...

Recap:

$1500 (only have throne and double bass pedal)

Studio use only

5 or 6 pieces

for Heavy Music (think Isis, Neurosis, Mouth of the Architect, Zao, Breather Resist, Converge, Botch)

I don't mind skimping on cymbals, because I'm sure my technique is bad and I'll be busting them up pretty quickly. Main priority is the snare and the rest of the shells.