Long practice hours & long breaks

Enigmatic

• Members

Hello,

I am relatively new to the world of drumming and I have been struggling with practicing double bass for the first few months. After almost giving up on playing double bass, and taking a long hiatus from drumming (3 months), I sat down another day on the throne and wailed away on the double pedal as I have been practicing regularly.  I was very surprised as I seemed to have improved so dramatically.  Has this ever happened to you?

Is this normal in the world of drumming.   I also play keys and guitar, but the progress and muscle shaping was a bit slower on those instruments.  

I still struggle with drumming, but whenever my muscle gets tired after all the monotonous exercises, I take a few weeks break and come back and realize my playing has improved.  Do you all experience the same?  Or am i not practicing right? Does muscle aches and fatigue get to you sometimes?  (Just an FYI, I will sometimes practice 10 hours a day on weekends if time permits...)   

I know its better to practice 1 hour a day rather than 10 hours at a time...so do share you practice experiences, and best practices to improve your drumming.

Cheers.

• Members

That seems to be quite common. I've heard many people say the same thing. When I was starting off, that would happen to me a lot. I would have the hardest time working on some new thing, then when I came back to it the next day, it just flowed out like I was doing it forever. My theory is that the subconcious mind pieces it together while you sleep.

• Members