quitting a band

• Members

Although I think I have already made my decision I was looking for some advice and input.

Currently I play in two bands: band #1 and band #2. I am extremely excited about band #1 which formed about a month ago. The problem I am having is of course with band #2 which I have been playing with for about 8 months.

Band #2 has serious problems. First of all the age bracket for the band is between 21 and about 35. This means we have influences from modern day indie rock to 80's hair metal to greatful dead... A constant clash of styles which we try to incorporate into one sound but in my opinion just doesn;t work.

SEcond, while there is some motivationin the band, I have really only been able to convince the drummer to practice on his own. In other words No one brings in anything new to our practices and no one is attempting to improve their sound (something which I work really hard at). This has really been a huge bummer for me. I am the type that is never satisfied and feel I have to work harder and harder, and the rest of the band thinks that everything already sounds great.

The third thing is the level of talent. When I joined th band I felt that I was at about the same level possibly somewhat lower level and so this was a great opportunity. Now, however, I notice that the singer sings off key pretty often, one of the guitarist sounds constantly like he is out of tune. He never comes up with anything new. Basically I think he's been playing the same damn thing for the past 10 years!!! never trying to improve or come up with new things.

ANyways, I feel like it is time for me to leave this band, but we constantly have discussions about ways to improve things. Isnce they're good guys I feel bad about leaving. However, things just don't seem like they can get better. We're all fairly easy going so there are no arguments between members, but in my opinion there's just no chemistry. I don't think there ever will be.