How bad am I at singing?

SergioLeone

• Members

Hi!

Noob here :wave:

I was recommended to come here for advice on my singing. So I hope it's OK?

Quick story:

1. I just started wanting to sing seriously. I have always loved to sing and have always sung but only recently have I dared to record stuff

2. I have no idea if I can sing. I have no idea if I can learn how to sing. And I don't know how to learn or where to begin

I have to be honest and say I'm quite nervous about sharing this but I really want to learn and I really want to become a better singer so it's a risk I'll have to take.

1. I sound strained. A friend described it as my voice was shaking

2. Some parts sung slightly off-key (he said)

3. I can't breath properly (through diaphragm). Keep running out of breath

4. I can't seem to get enough melody in there

So I know this is a long post but I really hope I can get some feedback.

Thank you :)

• Members

First off, congrats on getting serious about something you love.

Now your voice is a frequently quite nasal throughout the recording. It's not too strained but you do sounds like your reaching up with your chest voice, try to relax and get a slightly lighter sound by using your mixed voice.

You seem to have a good grasp of how to show emotion and that's a big plus because technically proficient but emotionally lacking voices are sooo dull to listen to even if they do seem amazing at first glance.

Breathing is a little hard to decipher from any recording so I can't really comment.

Hope this helps.

• Moderators

Main issues:

Throaty sounding, throat sounds over-squeezed and tense.

Off-pitch on some parts.

This song is a bit high for some male voices. Try singing something with a lower key and see what happens.

• Members

First off, congrats on getting serious about something you love.