Equipment for LIVE performance?

Sirens35

• Members

Im a novice singer,, played about4 shows so far but i havent impressed that much with my vocals... im really good acoustically, but with our band (2 loud guitars, bass, drums) it gets rough.. do yall use any equipment? also do you ever tell the soundguy tips to make you sound better? i dont have anything nor i dont even know where to begin.

please help.

:confused:

• Members

experimentation, lots of it. down to it though, if you've got a terrible voice you've got a terrible voice and no amount of outboard hardware or effects or whatever isn't going to help you out. [i know from experienc, HAHAA~! oh, i made myself feel bad : (]

if you need help standing out you can EQ yourself to be more present in the live mix, you can use a whole slew of equalization effects, pEQ, EQ, compressors, delays or reverbs if you'd REALLY like.. but just make sure it sounds GOOD. don't smother yourself in effects unless you're that type of band.

you could listen to what the sound guy is telling you to do.. unless he's telling you to jump off a building, in that case, don't do it.

• Members

if you need help standing out you can EQ yourself to be more present in the live mix, you can use a whole slew of equalization effects, pEQ, EQ, compressors, delays or reverbs if you'd REALLY like.. but just make sure it sounds GOOD. don't smother yourself in effects unless you're that type of band.

you could listen to what the sound guy is telling you to do.. unless he's telling you to jump off a building, in that case, don't do it.

haha thanks. yea i really cant hearmyself at all when we play.. and i find myself straining to get louder so that i can hear myself.. its tough. but hopefully like u said practice will work.. i plan on renting a pa next couple days and really experiemtning all sorts of madness. :)

• Members

Start with the simpliest solution first.