Jury Summons

s4001

• Members

got a jury sommons today. I suppose I'll go down and do my civic duty. However, I'm bringing along my copy of the US Constitution and the California Constitution and my Libertarian membership card. Last time I did that they kicked me right out and I haven't gotten a summons for 15 years.:D

• Members

I've been summoned twice over the years, and both times made it into the jury box as one of the chosen, all the way up to the question: "What do you do for a living?"

In both cases it was drug dealing, and when the prosecution heard me say "I'm a musician" as my livelyhood (not necessarily true, but almost) the next thing I heard was "Next!".....

I guess it's role typecasting on their part, in a way, assuming someone that plays music for a living would be sympathetic to a drug dealer.....

• CMS Author

So rather than actually participating in the process outlined in the documents you carry there, you intentionally act in a way that will guarantee you get a day off work instead? It's okay to quote the Constitution, but only to the point where it affects you? Is there something I'm not reading correctly here?

• Members

I have long hair, and I say that I'm a musician. They still don't like us long-hair, freaky types in their court rooms. Being an ex-military weapons guy doesn't hurt either. Little do they know, I'm actually a Solaris Sys Admin for a major telcomm. (I really am a retired military weapons guy and I do keep my hair long, but I'm only an amateur musician. :cool: )

• Members

Originally posted by s4001

got a jury sommons today. I suppose I'll go down and do my civic duty. However, I'm bringing along my copy of the US Constitution and the California Constitution and my Libertarian membership card. Last time I did that they kicked me right out and I haven't gotten a summons for 15 years.
:D

I'll have to do that... except for the Libertarian membership card. Don't have one of those.

• Members

Originally posted by Craigv