Good attributes of a slappin'/poppin' bass?

Cogan

• Members

For starters, I'm a guitarist who wants to learn some slap bass. I've been a long time fan of Victor Wooten and just saw his DVD lesson with Carter. I've picked up some of his technique (obviously just a little) and I'm finally getting the thump/pop/slap/pluck/snap feel that I want. Unfortunately, all I've got is a 15 year old Yamaha bass which ran me about $150 brand new in 1990, and it's pretty lifeless. So I'm sort of in the market for a new bass. My question is this:

What makes for a good slap bass? Anything about the neck? bridge? head stock? frets? body? strings? pups?

Any order of importance to the above?

What should I be looking for? Any specific brands/styles of bass?

I've played a bunch of basses in local stores some are bouncy and *snap* when you take a thumb to them, others are more rounded and dull in their response. Even going from one Fender P-bass to another gives a lot of variety in the responsiveness. I've played a couple of $120 basses that felt great and had the *snap*, while other $1000 basses were kind of dead when it came to slapping (but great for Jamerson type lines).

Any help here would be most appreciated

• Members

Yeah I love the Stingray for that if simply because it has only one pickup which leaves a ton of space for your other hand...but it's not necessary. I'm thinking that the difference in the fenders was due to their setup. I actually set my lower two strings a little higher than my upper two because i liked the feel better. So yeah, I'd recomend something with active electronics, maple fretboard, and then whatever pleases you the most. Start with a Stingray, and go from their :D. And with a little luck you'll find yourself a wonderful little bass.

PS: of course, all the above recomendations don't really matter too much as a lot of it is in your hands...that's the rub.

• Members

Originally posted by sludgebass69