As much as I don't want to give Fender my $...

Caroway

• Members

If Fender could improve it's QC dept. this bass would be the best bang for your buck. They just sound so damn good it's a shame that "crapshootivity" plays a major factor with Fender.

BTW...for the first time ever I'm ordering a Fender instead of trying it out first, it will be a '62RI....the deal I found was just too good to pass up as they are so ridiculously expensive where I live.

Pray for me people.

• Members

Originally posted by Caroway

I've always loved this bass and I want a jazz bass so it just seems natural.

Every bass I have owned has been string thru bridge. Is string thru body better?

Is there a difference?

Strings thru usually means more sustain. I have no experience with a non-strings thru Fender, but my strings thru Fenders sustain about an hour longer than my Stingrays.

I'm very curious...what problems have you guys had with Fender's QC? I'm up to 4 American Fender basses(95 P, 00 P, 03 J, 04/05 J) and I've loved every one of them. What am I missing that you find crappy about them? (I did replace both of the P's pickups with the '62 pickups, but aside from that...)

• Members

Originally posted by JacieFB

I'm very curious...what problems have you guys had with Fender's QC? I'm up to 4 American Fender basses(95 P, 00 P, 03 J, 04/05 J) and I've loved every one of them. What am I missing that you find crappy about them? (I did replace both of the P's pickups with the '62 pickups, but aside from that...)

Many people confuse a poorly set up bass at a shop with a poorly constructed bass from a factory. Also, if you sell a billion more basses than some of your compeditors, you ARE going to have more lemons, just a matter of odds.

• Members