OT: Anyone know anything about home surveilance cameras?

Phantasm

• Members

Usually there's someone here that knows something about everything, so here's what I'm looking for...

I've been thinking about putting up some outdoor surveilance cameras to monitor my front/back yard and side driveway. A DVR to record them would be nice and if they were motion activated that would be cool. It would also be nice if they could record stuff at night.

Obviously I don't know a whole lot about this. There's a kit at Sams that has all the items to do this sort of thing, but I figured if someone else knew about something better I'd take their experience/knowledge under consideration....

• Members

I have no experience with the equipment, but some with the results.

Don't expect to get "evidence" (other than the most vague) useable in court. I can't count the number of people who've brought me a still from a security camera, shot at night, zoomed all the way out, etc. and expected it to look like something off of CSI.

The fact is, any normal video camera only takes an image 640 x 480 pixels. Viewed as a whole, they look okay, but there just isn't any detail to speak of when "zooming in" to the image. It isn't there because the camera couldn't handle the detail.

The upshot is, you can't read a license plate that is made up of 6 pixels. Same for a face. If it's a crap camera shooting in the dark, it's even less likely.

Some in-store security setups are good enough to get recognizeable features, but you won't get that from essentially a webcam.

• Members

we just installed this at work

http://sentinelcctvstore.lorextechnology.com/product.aspx?id=1244

works really well , can also be viewed via internet , so far perfect performance . We cought the neighbor using water , everyday , :mad: