Help w/ Bass Tone from a Guitarist!

vrm

• Members

hey guys, I am not Bass savy as I'm a guitarist. I just want to help our Bassist get a better, more appropriate tone for our band. Here's the problem, he's a mix style-wise of Flea-style slap and Justin Chancelllor? from Tool. So I'm guessing tone-wise he's going for a mix of the 2 ( Clarity for Flea slap, yet dirty for the Tool-ish stuff). What would you guys recommend as an ideal rig for someone seeking that tone. Let me fill you in on his rig. First he's got a Ibanez Bass, not sure of the model # but I know it has active p-ups or atleast active electronics as it requires a 9V, this goes straight into an old SS Carvin 350W head (sounds too sterile to me) into a nice Trace Elliot 800W 4ohm 4x12 bass cabinet. Now all else aside, I know he won't part w/ the Trace and probably not the ibanez. I'm just asking because to me the hallmark bass tone is Fender p-bass and Ampeg SVT tubes, but I doubt that's gonna happen. Is there a happy medium? You can check us out and here the bass @ http://myspace.com/subjectus

Sorry so long

• Members

Maybe he should run a Traynor YBA-200 with the Trace cab? I wouldn't part with the Trace cab either. If you guys aren't overly loud then the Traynor should give a good mix of clean and grit for a really really good price.

Then he should upgrade bass to something else :D

• Members

maybe look into one of the sansamp pedals ?

listening to the recordings on your myspace it just sounds like his bass needs a little punch ( and mabe a bit more gain)and the sansamps seem to be a popular choice for getting that svt-ish growl from different amps.

• Members

I agree with the Sansamp pedal (or reasonble facsimile) suggestion. Not a huge investment, and it might be all he needs to get a little grit in his sound. I did the same with my previous amp which had a great clean "Flea" tone, but couldn't get dirty.