StingRay Pickup in 51' p bass body

halfmassive

• Members

Hi,

I am new to bass guitars - actually I am putting togather a USAcustom guitars/ warmoth bass guitar for someone else. What he wants is the look of a 51 p-bass but the sound of a Musicman stingray.

I was thinking on just having USACG rout the traditional p bass pickup postion for a MM humbucker and then wire it without the EQ and active electronics. I know this won't get exactly to a MM stingray sound but I am guessing it will be more powerful than a 51 p bass.

My main question is will moving the stingray pickup towards the neck drastically change the sound or just take a little treble bit off of it.

Also will using a duncan 1/4 pounder P-BAss pickup get close to the MM humbucker?

Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

• Moderators
Hi,

Also will using a duncan 1/4 pounder P-BAss pickup get close to the MM humbucker?

I owned a Stingray, and my P bass currently has a 1/4 pounder in it. The answer to your question is a simple "No." Each pickup has it's own flavor. You may want to look at the Fenfer Big Block. It's basically a P Bass with an MM style pickup in it. That could possibly give you some pointers on MM pickup placement in the '51 P Bass body.

• Members

I don't think you'll get a Stingray sound without Stingray electronics placed in the correct spot. The pickup is only half of the equation...the pre amp is the other half.

Moving the pickup closer to the bridge probably isn't going to change the tone that drastically, but keep in mind that MM has that pickup in the sweet spot to get the sound that they want. They probably spent hundreds (or more) of hours figuring out exactly what the best placement is...

A Duncan BL 1/4 pounder P pickup isn't going to sound a thing like a MM Stingray. It'll sound like a hot P bass though!

• Members