I've been playing for awhile, getting bored, where to learn righteous booty funk?

animal69

• Members

I've been playing bass for several months now, I was a guitar player before I started so I knew all the scales, arpeggios, modes, etc. All the books I consulted were the same: generic basslines and advice to use roots,, scales, modes, arpeggios, and passing tones to write basslines but little else. I want to do more, I want people to notice my basslines. The band I play in is mostly pop, I write some of the songs and I want to work on riffs and bassline composition that will make people dance, like 70s funk, motown type stuff, maybe prog rock .. whatever. You know? Just something different and enjoyable for me and the masses. Can anyone suggest any resources? I just need something to take me beyond the obvious. Usually what I get is a set of chords for a song and I have to work from there. It's really time consuming to try to write something that sounds good and fits the chords and I end up getting frustrated and forgetting what I did. What to do?

• Members

Maybe check into some Hal Leonard instructional books. I teach band students and they have all levels of instructional books. I have a friend that found a jazz bass book I think it was called the Fundamental Bass Player but it was a large book that covered everything that you would ever need to know about playing bass. It was focused on Jazz and Blues but it would be easily transitioned to rock since rock sprung from those two styles.

• Members

okay parliament, good, check ... any other bands you'd recommend?

also does anyone know where the basslines are stolen from in naughty by nature's "o.p.p". and that song that goes "hip hip hip a to the hop and you don't stop". those are both pretty good. pretty much any bassline that's sampled and put into a rap song is pretty sweet.

• Members

okay parliament, good, check ... any other bands you'd recommend?