should i start teaching lessons?

jonathan_matos5

• Members

more accomplished at trombone than bass. ive been playing trombone for 7 years. bass only about 2 years but i tend to do alright. i am more inclined to teach trombone lessons than bass.

Go for it. You need the experience if you want to be a teacher.

• Members

Make sure you REALLY know what you are doing. There are ton of 'teachers' out there doing more harm than good simply because they need the money. I don't think it's enough to be slightly better than your student - I wouldn't want to study first year psychology at university from a second year student....

A good teacher should have his/her theory and technique down COLD so that they can pinpoint potential problem areas for their students early on to eliminate learning bad habits and developing issues in the future.

There is a reason the Royal Conservatory of Music has it's pedagogy requirements to be a teacher. Even absolute beginners are taking lessons with a well educated teacher far beyond their own skill level. In my opinion, it is only at the very advanced level that it becomes appropriate to take lessons from someone who isn't miles above you - mainly because the gap between skill level becomes smaller.

I've taught at 3 music schools and privately for a while and I have seen MANY underqualified musicians teaching students. Often, they waste the student's time and money and can even discourage a potential great player from pursuing music.

SERIOUSLY consider what you are doing here. There is a lot more at stake than some extra money in your pocket...

• Members

Make sure you REALLY know what you are doing. There are ton of 'teachers' out there doing more harm than good simply because they need the money. I don't think it's enough to be slightly better than your student - I wouldn't want to study first year psychology at university from a second year student....