Magnetic bracelets

Derek5272

• Members

horse hockey or not, i had an older friend who kept magnets in his pocket all the time and he claimed they did him some good. when they came out with the magnetic bracelet he started wearing and swore that it helped him. i had knee pain from a bad accident back in 1985 so i tried the magnetic bracelet. it may have just been phsycological or it may really be something scientific about it, but my knee does not bother me now. i have been wearing one for about 12 years or so now.

it has never interfered with my bass or bass playing.

and i do not play any alter bridge covers.

• Members

Magnetic fields from a little bracelet are far too weak to have any effect on the rather small amount of iron in blood. Hell, not even an MRI machine which has a magnetic field strong enough to suck up a metal chair from across the room exactly causes blood to go haywire in the body. In fact, it depends on it not affecting bloodflow much itself, since the primary purposes of functional MRI is to actually measure blood (in particular oxygenated blood) levels differences in very small scales such as between different regions of the brain.

If these things actually worked, I'd eat my hat! I'd stick to the classics, like good diet, adequate levels of sleep and exercise.

As for the pickups, on your picking hand they probably would interfere at least slightly if close enough. Fretting hand you would be fine I think. It depends on how strong they are.

• Members

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Placebo

I don't mean to sound like a dick about it, but I haven't seen any proof that magnets do anything positive for you in the health department. If they did, wouldn't you think that a pair of studio cans would help relieve headaches or something along those lines? I'm not a scientist but I've still got to have proof before I believe something as true.

• Members