New to Bass

Davgar97

• Members

Hi guys, I've been playing guitar for about 6 or 7 years but I fancied a change so I bought my first bass (Epi Thunderbird). I was wondering if there's any common bad habits that people get into when they move from guitar to bass?

Also, does anyone have any suggestions for easy songs to try and learn? (I mainly listen to bands like Guns n Roses, AC/DC, Rage Against the Machine etc.) Any song/technique suggestions would be appreciated!

Cheers!

• Members

Any Booker T and the MG'S (Greatest Hits), James Brown, and blues will become extremely valuable lessons, no matter what genre you play. Blues is the foundation for rock & roll as we know it and you will be amazed at the doors it will open musically ones you get the different styles under your belt.

• Members

The main thing to remember is that bass is a completely different animal to guitar and has to be approached differently, both physically and mentally. Get a metronome or drum machine and use it when practicing. Also learn the different technique involved in playing bass. There are lots of video clips of this on You Tube.

Good luck with it. :)

• Moderators

Hi guys, I've been playing guitar for about 6 or 7 years but I fancied a change so I bought my first bass (Epi Thunderbird). I was wondering if there's any common bad habits that people get into when they move from guitar to bass?

Also, does anyone have any suggestions for easy songs to try and learn? (I mainly listen to bands like Guns n Roses, AC/DC, Rage Against the Machine etc.) Any song/technique suggestions would be appreciated!

Cheers!