NUABD new ugly ass bass day

poomwah

• Members

Well, figured I should start a new thread on it since I pulled the trigger. For those that don't know, here's some background.

20 years ago I started playing on a 1990 black ibanez exb504. 4string, p/j, black hardware, triangle inlays. No matter how much I gave in to my lust for more expensive instruments, I always went back to my exb. Until I gave it to mary ann for valentines day 3 years ago when she wanted to start playing. Its now covered with happy bunny stickers. I really miss it.

So, while at a pawn shop, I spotted a 404 (same as 504 except chrome hardware and dots) in a hsc for 130 bucks. Totally beat to hell, hideous paint job, but plays great, I had actually forgotten how much FUN these are to play. A little bit of scratchiness in the pots, no ground noise, but, like I said, a god awful paint job, lots of dings and a crack in the neck.

I pointed out the crack in the neck and they dropped the price to 65. I offered them 50 and they took it.

I went straight to the auto parts store and bought a can of paint stripper, lol

• Members

I didn't know it came with the OHSC! Sweet deal, even if the bass isn't salvageable (I'm sure it can be). If worse comes to worse, you can always part it out on eBay, make your $50 back, and have a decent HSC for free.

Anyway, I'd completely sand the neck down. I've done it a couple times in ways that would make any luthier or decent repairman cringe, but the results have been decent. I started with 220 grit sandpaper and worked the entire back of the neck over until the finish was gone. I then moved up to 400 grit, which was smooth enough for me. Others will go with 800 and up, but mine felt smooth when fine sanded to 400. The sanding will get rid of any ridges and sharp edges left by the crack.