how good do I need to be to joina band?

AlexMC

• Members

So I picked up the bass almost a year ago; I took a handful of lessons earlier this year to pick up the correct technique, and I've learned about 15 songs since then from Sweet Child of Mine to Sunshine of My Love via Back in Black and Sultans of Swing.

Am I ready to look for other people to play with, given my limited repertoire? I don't really have any improvisational skills (I know chords and scales but don't feel comfortable applying them in songs)...

If your local covers band were looking for a bassist, how much experience and repertoire would you expect them to have?

• Members

I recommend playing with people(a band or whatnot) as soon as possible. It will kick you in the behind like nothing else. It's the very best education for a player. Just be sure your not totally lost and can reasonably* keep up with the other players.

*meaning, not distracting them if/when your off

• Members

Well, I started playing in a band consisting of players miles above my skill level about seven months ago. I had played for about a year and a half myself, only, I didn't take any lessons, and didn't know any theory (except for basic scales). I replied to a "bassist wanted" ad, they had me in for an audition, and even though I screwed it up, they wanted me along. They were aiming for something down the road, and liked me as a person, and they thought the personal fit was more important. You'd be surprised as to how many share that sentiment.