Acoustic B200 Combo amp

Wiser Visor

• Members

Hi to everyone...I'm new here. It's great to read all of the posts everyone makes. I just got a used Acoustic B200 combo amp and am really surprised at the power it has. I've read of a few who have a hum from it even with nothing plugged in. I'm looking for a fix for this condition. I'm the second owner and I have read that the warranty only goes to the original owner. There was a post here by an anonymous posted who stated he had a fix for this problem. I understand it has to do with positioning of the toroid trasformer than induces a hum in the system. If anyone has a solution, please let me know. Thanks

• Members

Hello, another newbie here. I own a handful of Acoustic amps, among them the B-200 combo which I have used quite a bit. I bought it as a used item from one of the big chains and sure enough it had that same bad hum. I still played it but it steadly crapped out until it was useless. Rather than deal with sending it back I took it to a good reapair shop. It was a broken solder joint somewhere and easy to fix. While they had it they put in a Eminince Lite speaker I had. The total was I think $70.00 and thing has kicked ass and been very quiet since. And I know some people disagree but I think the power rating is very fair. I also have a B-200 head and both are much louder than the G&K MB-210 combos I have.

I hope this helps,

Tim

• Members