Getting Bruned Out?

bendafender

• Members

I have been aware of burnout since it happened to me in a different field, even though I was aware of the possibility. I used to be a photographer and always feared the day when I might not want to get out of bed and look at another camera.

But music has not yet become something to dread, far from it. I play music for fun and even though I make some money from it, I have vowed to back off if it ever becomes a grind. I must say that the types of gigs I do are somewhat different from what most band members here do. Most of my playing out is in theater musicals, something I never dreamed would be as much fun as it has turned out to be. Thursday

• Members

Well I think you're already ahead of the game if you're aware that burnout is a possibility. We all have to find that threshold and for some people it's higher or lower than others.

I think a lot of people get hung up on "I must make my living from music" and then end up taking a lot of gigs they don't like just to pay the bills, and then wonder why music doesn't give them the same joy anymore. I equate it to being a hooker all day and then going home and trying to enjoy sex with your husband. :D Some people have the personality to do that but many don't.

The important thing is not to assume that because you can't do what the next person does you can't continue to enjoy playing. You have to figure out what YOU have to do to make it enjoyable and what your priorities are.

To me, the priorities are playing music I love, playing in a band that inspires me musically, and enjoying the company of the people I play with personally. I also realized early on that I love touring but NOT for really long periods of time - 4 to 6 weeks max. I need lots of downtime to recharge my personal and creative batteries. I also need time to spend songwriting and recording - gigging alone doesn't do it for me if we don't continually have new material to play out.