Unions

• Members

I've been gigging for 30+ years, never joined a union and have never once been asked about my union membership status by anybody actually involved in the music game. I know there's a musicians union in my area - and have heard from a few of the better horn players that I've brought on as hired guns that they were union members (either currently or more often the case - formerly). My impression is that union membership might be a requirement for orchestra gigs, sub work with legitimate touring acts, etc. However, at the level that weekend warriors muck around at - the union is clearly a non-factor.

• Members

I am a member of Local 10-208. I rarely get asked with my power trio but I also play jazz trombone and that requires the card. The trio has been busted a few times while loading in for wedding gigs at higher end hotels. The Palmer House would not allow any gear brought in without the card. My wife

• Members

At one time, my band and I were members of the local musician's union in my area. It helped us score one gig - opening up for a DJ at a high school prom :facepalm:

I know bands used to be the popular entertainment at proms, but not these days. Those kids just stared at us like "WTF?" until our hour long set was over.

After that, there was never really any work for us as a pop/rock band. So after a year, we quit and haven't joined back.

From what I understand, back in the 70s, it was almost a necessity to be in a union. Union reps would (and this is second hand from local musicians who were active during that time) literally block the doors to the bar/club until you produced your union card.

Today, no bar owners care whether you're union or not. Considering the fact that union members have to enforce a contract, it seems that not being in a union could be more advantageous, as a lot of bar owners these days don't want to sign contracts.

Just my 2 cents.

• Members