Ugh, band taxes...

Rezrover

• Members

Been done since the 4th of July. Most of my rig is gone except my EV mains & subs and Audiopile mic & speaker cables.

The only bad part of the taxes is that what gear I've sold that's being depreciated; if I made more than the depreciation model suggests, I have to claim that as an income.

• Members

This is my first year doing taxes for "the band". Basically I am taking the liability and then 1099-MISC everyone who got paid, including our booking agent. It gets complicated because our previous drummer passed away, new drummer only played a couple shows, had a fill in bass player for a bit... And to top it off, I still haven't gotten everything. I'm sure I'll get most of it this week.... Can't wait to see what my accountant bill is going to be.

On top of all that I have investments etc that complicate the process, so I can't even do it myself. BLAH!

This year I plan on not playing any venues that will W2 us. Not worth the hassle imo. (and it doesn't look like we'll be playing those venues anyway)

• Members

I feel your pain.

Had a surprise W2 come to me for my side-project band from late 2010. I elected to take the hit alone, as the amount wasn't that significant, and this act only plays a handful of times a year/we have severe communication lag as it is. I decided it would be easier all-around to handle it as opposed to trying to 1099 everyone or arrange for them to cover their share.

This past year (2011) though, same late in the year gig is approaching, venue contacts our lead to confirm W2 information, lead contacts me to ask for my details...