COMPRESSORS: RNC or ART Pro VLA ?

• Members

Hello everyone,

I've been looking for the best all around compressor $500 can buy for my home studio for use with an AKAI DPS16.

After 2 weeks reading about several compressors in the market and getting opinions from several people here at the Recording Forum, i believe it came down to these 2:

1) 2 x FMR RNCs (rack mounted) for $320

or

2) 1 ART PRO VLA for about the same.

Now I'm trying to get as much feedback as can between these 2. Unfortunately no music store in my area carries either so I cannot A/B them. All your opinions are very welcome.

Thanks in advance

• Members

I just realized you teach in the hotel school! I was the TA for Jack Corgel and Jan deRoos last semester

I'm a grad student and as you know do not have enough time to spare to play in a band :( . But I am putting together a small home studio and whenever I have a few minutes to spare I'm usually there :)

• Members

Originally posted by nickdahl

Not much...just cold. Sorry to hear that it's snowing up there. Hope things clear up by the weekend. My brother-in-law is coming into town and we were planning a trip to Syracuse. Wonder what the weather's like there?

Nick

The gf's in Syracuse - she says it's been really nasty. I think Rochester and east had upwards of a foot or more yesterday.

While you're up there, the MOST is playing some movie about underwater volcanoes in the IMAX theater; I've heard it's really good. :)

-Dan.

• Members
  • Members