Wiring up a PA...which cables to use for what?

• Members

I'm a youth pastor and am putting together a pa system for our youth group. My wife and I are buying all of the equipment so we don't have an unlimited budget but we want to get a good quality system so we don't want to skimp on cables. In addition to using it for the youth, my wife will also use it as a backup PA as she has a band that performs for corporate events and weddings.

Here's the equipment we are piecing together so I'll need your advice on when to use 1/4", 1/4" TRS, XLR, etc. I could also use advice on how to connect it all (best signal path). All of this equipment will be in one rack which is a Gator 10x6 case where the mixer is on top.

Mixer- Mackie 1402 VLZ-Pro

Efx- TC Electronics M300 multi efx processor

Compressor- dbx 160A

Furman PL-8 Line conditioner

dbx 231 2 channel eq (I guess one channel will be for the foh mix and the other for monitors which we won't have for a while)

Eventually a BBE sonic maximizer

We aren't set on speakers but will most likely go with FBT MaxX 4a powered speakers.

How many of these units can be connected with quality 1/4" cables such as George L or something similar and how many need TRS or XLR? The more specific you can be the better as I'm totally new to sound though I've been playing guitar for years. Also, is it cheaper to buy bulk cable and wire them myself? I don't need hundreds of feet unless you recommend me making my own XLR's for the longer mic cables. I'm fairly competent with a soldering iron if necessary though I know many connectors are solderless.

The plan is to have 3 vocal mics (channels 1-3), acoustic guitar, electric guitar, keyboard and maybe a mic for congas and that will do it initially as the room isn't big enough to worry about micing the drums and bass.