Custom PA design?

• Members

Hopefully a few people will have a look at this thread.. most likely my last post on a forum before my 24th birthday (holy crap I'm old).

OK, here's the story... you can laugh whilst you read, I can't hear you ;)

I'm a guitarist, and now drummer and part time bass player (they need bassists at church!). My main musical direction is death metal type stuff. I've used some freakin' serious guitar gear in the past (2:90 into 6 speakers worth of Mesa halfback, cranked), and have decided its all too heavy and too much of a pain. I've also taken a massive interest in drumming lately :)

So, with my realisation that DI is good enough these days for live work (and it is), I want to be able to run a couple vocal mikes, keyboard sound module, POD Pro and a few Vamp Pro units for guitar and bass and lastly trigger kick drum and snare, all through the PA. Death metal music. And I don't want to spend a fortune.

............. waits for laughter and indignation to subside..........

I just bought a CR1604 Mackie mixer (from the same guy I bought my Mesa poweramp from no less, 4 years ago!). He does custom PA setups, custom cabinets and crossovers etc. He was throwing around ideas left right and centre.

Anyways, what value would a guy like this be to me? (Jeff, if you're reading this, I love ya work! honest! :cool: ) He was talking about all sorts of things. I am unsure of what I need for medium sized gigs (use my PA as a backline to supplement house PA for large stuff), but I think I can afford an AM3002 Australian Monitor poweramp, used, if not the cabinets it would drive LOL. Essentially getting things built by Jeff means my specific needs are met, and a lot of outboard stuff won't be necessary because it will be built with my requirements in mind, AND he's not a spaced out fool who overcharges for anything.

Am I looking at a MASSIVE bill for trying to achieve "significant power" for my chosen genre? What should I expect from second hand gear?